EJS Annual Gala on September 9

Commemorating the 50th Anniversaries of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965

In this third and final gala marking the 50th anniversaries of civil rights milestones, EJS will commemorate the 50th anniversaries of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965. Our gala will be held at the Julia Morgan Ballroom in San Francisco on September 9, 2015, at 6:00 P.M.

Please sign up on our waitlist for tickets and sponsorships (PDF with sponsor levels).

Our gala will again feature performances by our Civil Rights at 50 Artistic Partners Marcus Shelby, Steven Anthony Jones, and Joanna Haigood.

Special thanks to our early sponsors, including (as of 8/19/15):
Toni Rembe and Arthur Rock
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein
Charles and Cheryl Ward
Minami Tamaki LLP
Kelly McCreary
Neyhart, Anderson, Flynn & Grosboll
Keker & Van Nest LLP
YMCA of San Francisco
Sheppard Mullin
Rudy, Exelrod, Zieff & Lowe, LLP
Steve Zieff & Elaine Leitner
Mason Tillman Associates, Ltd.
Sharon Bell & Karen Bell Francois
The Honorable Willie L. Brown Jr.
Leftwich Event Specialists Inc.
Gary Greenfield & Reesa Tansey
Dr. Sandy and Barry Goldstein
Diana and George McDaniel
Mona Tawatao & Family
Barbara Maco & William Wick
Douglas R. Young
Outten & Golden
Linda Li and Mike Dorado
Alliance for Justice
Free Speech For People
Michael Harris
Remcho Johansen & Purcell LLP
National Center for Lesbian Rights
Van Der Hout, Brigagliano & Nightingale, LLP
California Employment Lawyers Associaton
ACLU of Northern California
Fred T. Korematsu Institute
California Bar Foundation
Cheryl Stevens
Priscilla Ocen
John Crew
William Kennedy
Arc of Justice Productions, Inc.
Dorothy Ehrlich
NARAL Pro-Choice America
Bryan Schwartz Law

We will celebrate the achievements and contributions of four honorees:

Rev. James Lawson
In the 1960s, the Reverend James Lawson organized and led one of the most effective campaigns of nonviolent civil resistance in the 20th century: the Nashville lunch counter sit-ins for the US Civil Rights Movement. In the years that followed he was involved in strategic planning of numerous other major campaigns and actions and was called “the mind of the movement” and “the leading theorist and strategist of nonviolence in the world” by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Alicia Garza on behalf of #BlackLivesMatter
#BlackLivesMatter is a national organizing project focused on combatting anti-Black state sanctioned violence. Alicia co-founded created #BlackLivesMatter with Patrisse Cullors and OpalTometi as a call to action for Black people after the murder of 17-year-old Trayvon Martin.

Jennifer L. Eberhardt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology; Co-Director, Social Psychological Answers to Real-World Questions (SPARQ) Stanford University; 2014 MacArthur Fellow

Joaquin G. Avila
Nationally recognized expert on Latino voting rights; Former director of the National Voting Rights Advocacy Initiative at Seattle University School of Law; Led efforts to enact the California State Voting Rights Act of 2001; 1996 MacArthur fellow

Thank you for your support!

Eva Paterson
EJS President

Civil Rights at 50 Campaign Co-Chairs: Eva Paterson, Quinn Delaney, Dolores Huerta, Thomas A. Saenz, Dale Minami

Gala Honorary Co-Chairs: Toni Rembe and Arthur Rock

Gala Committee: Sharon Bell, Chuck Collins, Karen Francois, Michael Harris, Linda Li, Kelly McCreary, Priscilla Ocen, Dan Roth, Cheryl Stevens, Cheryl Ward, Charles Ward

Please sign up on our waitlist for tickets and sponsorships (PDF with sponsor levels).