EJS 20th Anniversary Virtual Celebration – Thursday, September 17


EJS 20th Anniversary Celebration
Thursday, September 17, 2020 – 6:00 p.m.

You’re invited to join us in a virtual gala to celebrate the Equal Justice Society’s 20th anniversary on September 17 at 6:00 p.m. Pacific.

Our program will include the world premiere of a new film titled “Harriet Tubman: Through the Eyes of Children,” with music composed by Marcus Shelby, directed by Kevin D. Johnson, Jr., produced by Cheo Tyehimba Taylor and Kevin D. Johnson, Jr., and executive producer Eva Paterson.

The evening will be co-hosted by Kelly McCreary, EJS Board Member, Actor and Producer, and Renel Brooks-Moon, SF Giants Public Address Announcer and veteran Bay Area broadcaster, with special remarks by Pam Moore, KRON4 News, and a blessing by Rev. Diana McDaniel. Buy your tickets or sponsorship today!

Special Thank You to Our Sponsors and Host Committee!

Our deepest appreciation to our early Sponsors and Host Committee members. Learn more about sponsor benefits and purchase your sponsorship today! Or contact Ginger Johnson at gjohnson@equaljusticesociety.org for more information.

In formation (updated 09/10/2020)

Elizabeth Cabraser

Quinn Delaney and Wayne Jordan
Henry L. Hecht
Emily Scott
Arthur and Charlotte Zitrin Foundation

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation

The California Wellness Foundation
Jack W. Londen

James Finberg and Melanie Piech
Tom Given
Leftwich Event Specialists Inc.
Marjorie Randolph
California Teachers Association
Kaiser Permanente

Neyhart, Anderson, Flynn & Grosboll
Sara Sanderson and Eric Weaver
Thomas Layton and Gyöngy Laky
Rudy Exelrod Zieff & Lowe LLP
Elaine Leitner and Steve Zieff
Perkins Coie Foundation
Maja Wessels and Charles Covington
Everything AV
The Mason Family Fund-Psalm 107:8

Beneficial State Bank
New Directions in Diversity
Joan Graff
Arthur and Mary Jo Shartsis
Arlene Mayerson
Public Advocates
Pirates Press Records
Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights of the San Francisco Bay Area
Ian Haney Lopez and Deborah Drickersen Cortez
John Crew
William and Arlene Kennedy
Catherine and Thomas Ikesaki
Rebecca Westerfield

In formation (updated 08/26/2020)

  • Abdi Soltani
  • Aimee Allison
  • Andy Wong
  • Barbara Maco and Bill Wick
  • Bill Hing
  • Caren Van Slyke
  • Carrie Avery
  • Cheryl Stevens
  • Constance Moore
  • Daniel Tellalian
  • David Berger
  • Debbie Lee and Bill Tamayo
  • Dolores Huerta
  • Dr. Shirley Weber
  • Elaine Elinson and Rene CiriaCruz
  • Elizabeth Cabraser
  • Emily Scott
  • Gloria Steinem
  • Guillermo Mayer
  • Henry L. Hecht
  • James Harrison
  • James J. Brosnahan
  • Jane and Howard Moore
  • Jennifer Bell and William C. McNeill III
  • Joey Williams
  • John William Templeton
  • Judge Thelton Henderson
  • Lyda Phillips
  • Maja Wessels and Charles Covington
  • Monique E. Liburd
  • Parshan Khosravi
  • Quinn Delaney and Wayne Jordan
  • Renel Brooks-Moon
  • Rev. Diana McDaniel
  • Rosemary E. Fei
  • Shauna Marshall and Robert Z. Hirsch
  • Susan Baronoff
  • Tamara Morgan
  • The National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO)
  • Tiffaney Boyd
  • Tony Iton
  • Vincent Pan
  • Virginia Dzurinko
  • Yolanda Jackson

Watch a Special Preview Video Featuring Marcus Shelby with Vocals by Tiffany Austin

In this special preview video produced by Kevin Johnson, Marcus Shelby shares his two-decade artistic partnership with EJS and performs a few of the musical pieces with Tiffany Austin that will be showcased at our EJS20 gala on September 17.

EJS20 designs by Rose de Heer Design made possible by support from Tipping Point Community.

EJS 20th Anniversary Celebration
Thursday, September 17, 2020 – 6:00 p.m.

%d bloggers like this: